LEAVENWORTH–The University of Saint Mary JCOM (Journalism Communications Club) hosted the 3rd Annual Christian Yanos Excellence in Photojournalism Gallery and Awards, on Thursday, April 27, 2023. The event was held in the Goppert art Gallery allowing students and faculty to come in and view the entries.

Jerrica Johnson captured the Photo of the Year, showing the joy on the face of a student at the Home Run Derby earlier this semester. Donel Jack won a first-place medal with a vivid photo of a man using a snowblower in Leavenworth. Christopher Huslig was awarded first place in the Sports division with his photo of Spires competing in a volleyball game.

The awards have changed over the previous years. JCOM students voted to receive medals for first place and certificates for second and third place finishers. The medals displayed the JCOM logo on one side and the division name on the other, with a gold and blue ribbon. This year there were five judges, including JCOM alum Clayton Steward whose photo won the Photo of the Year for 2021-22. Steward is currently attending graduate school majoring in Journalism.

“It feels great, coming in second two years in a row sucked and when I finally did it, it felt like a dream come true,” said Johnson.

Huslig has entered the competition the previous two years and has not placed either year.

“It is an honor to win an award named after a fellow football player. Feels good to show that even athletes can put together quality work and work just as hard in the classroom as on the field,” said Huslig.

Dr. Laveda Peterlin talked before the awards were handed out about the importance of Christian Yanos.

“Every year we strive to get better and keep his memory alive with this event,” said Dr. Peterlin.

The annual event is hosted by JCOM and each year the club strives to include more photos of better quality. The students’ Spire-Times account has the online gallery available.

Michael Strube is the JCOM President and a Senior Digital Communications major.